In June 2010, the government of China announced a change in import duties.



  • 0 harmful
  • 0 neutral
  • 1 liberalising
Inception date: 01 Jul 2010 | Removal date: open ended

Import tariff

On 1 June 2010, the Administration of Taxation issued Notice No. 11 of 2010, issued a new Generalized System of Preferences for 32 least developed countries (as defined by Chinese authorities). In sum, the program cancels import tariffs on 4,762 products, starting from 1 July 2010.
The benefitting countries are: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Republic of Benin, the Republic of Burundi, Eritrea, Djibouti, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, the Comoros Union, the Republic of Liberia, the Republic of Madagascar, the Republic of Mali, the Republic of Malawi, Mauritania, the Republic of Mozambique, the Republic of Rwanda, Sierra Leone, the Republic of the Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, the Republic of Togo, the Republic of Uganda, the Republic of Zambia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Republic of Chad, the Central African Republic, the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the People's Republic of Bangladesh, Nepal Federation democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, Republic of Yemen, independent State of Samoa, Vanuatu.
The benefitting jurisdictions exported goods worth USD 1 million or more on 21 of the eligible 771 tariff lines (HS 4-digit level).