In July 2009, the government of Brazil initiated a new safeguard investigation.



  • 1 harmful
  • 0 neutral
  • 0 liberalising


Resolution CAMEX n? 51, of 28 July 2010 -

The World Bank, Temporary Trade Barriers Data updated through 2015, Global Safeguards Database (GSGD):

Inception date: 01 Sep 2010 | Removal date: 31 Aug 2012


On July 31, 2009 Brazil initiated a safeguard investigation on imports of coconuts desiccated. 
On August 5th, 2010 Brazil made public through its Chamber of International Trade (CAMEX) its decision to extend the application of safeguards measures which had already been in force for over two years on the imports of desiccated coconuts. This product is classified under the code 0801.11.10 of Mercosur Common Nomenclature (NCM).
The measure establishes quantitative restrictions for two periods: in the first period (from September 1st, 2010 to August 31st, 2011), the restriction will be established at the level of 5.770 tons; in the second period (from September 1st, 2011 to August 31st, 2012) the restriction will be of 6.059 tons.
The measure does not apply to a number of developing countries* on the basis of Article 9.1 of the anti-dumping agreement of the WTO and it does not affect exports from the Mercosur countries.
* South Africa, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Qatar, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Cyprus, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Kuwait, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, Ecuador, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Jordan, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Morocco, Mauritania, Mauritius, Myanmar, Mozambique, Moldova, Mongolia, Namibia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Pakistan, Peru, Kenya, Rwanda, Solomon Islands, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Suriname, Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu, United Republic of Tanzania, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
The above safeguard measure expired on 1 September 2012.