In November 2013, the members of SACU announced a change in import duties.



  • 1 harmful
  • 0 neutral
  • 0 liberalising


South Africa Revenue Service (SARS), Notice R.861, published in Government Gazette no. 37015 of 15 November 2013:

International Trade Administration Commission of South Africa (ITAC), Report No. 438 of 7 October 2013, "Increase in the rate of customs duty on graphite electrodes":

SARS, Notice R.659, published in the Government Gazette No.37959 of 5 September 2014:

ITAC, Report no. 473 of 23 July 2014, "Reduction in the rate of customs duty on graphite electrodes":

Inception date: 15 Nov 2013 | Removal date: 15 Sep 2014

Import tariff

On 15 November 2013, the South African Revenue Service (SARS) increased the import duty on graphite electrodes "of a kind used for furnaces", which are classified under HS 8545.11. The import tariff was levied from free of duty to the WTO-bound rate of 10 per cent.
However, the duty for products entering the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) originating from the EU and the Southern African Development Community (SADC) are still free. Besides this, the tariff for EFTA products was reduced from 3.8 per cent to free of duty as well.
The ITAC decided to raise the customs duty due to the high level of imports into the SACU, and concomitant erosion of the market share of the SACU producers of graphite electrodes.
On the 5 September 2014, the SARS suspended the duty by Notice no. 659. The decision was based on a recommendation by the International Trade Administration Commission of South Africa. The Commission found that graphite electrodes are no longer manufactured domestically and that the current duty has a cost-raising impact on the downstream users of graphite electrodes, i.e. the minerals and metals beneficiation and fabrication industries.
Affected trading partners
The GTA retrieves its data on affected trading partners from UN Comtrade. However, for the year 2011, the database was not able to provide the affected trading partners for Botswana, Swaziland, and Lesotho.