In March 2022, the government of Canada banned petroleum imports from Russia and imposed sanctions on 32 Russian entities in response to its invasion of Ukraine. 



  • 2 harmful
  • 0 neutral
  • 0 liberalising


Government of Canada. Regulations Amending the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations (SOR/2022-52). 10/03/2022. Available at:

Inception date: 10 Mar 2022 | Removal date: open ended

Import ban

On 10 March 2022, the government of Canada introduced the Regulations Amending the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations (SOR/2022-052), banning the import of Russian petroleum and petroleum products. The Regulation prohibits the import of petroleum from Russia or any Russian citizen for any person in Canada and Canadian nationals overseas.

According to the announcement, the goods falling under the ban are classified under HS codes 2709, 2710, and 2711, in particular:

1. Petroleum oils and oils obtained from bituminous minerals, crude; 

2. Petroleum oils and oils obtained from bituminous minerals, other than crude; preparations not elsewhere specified or included, containing by weight 70% or more of petroleum oils or of oils obtained from bituminous minerals, these oils being the basic constituents of the preparations; waste oils

3. Petroleum gases and other gaseous hydrocarbons.

The exception to the ban is the goods for which the purchase or import contract was concluded before the ban's entry into force. 

According to the Governor-General in Council who introduced the measure, the import ban is a reaction to Russian "grave breach of international peace and security". 


Inception date: 10 Mar 2022 | Removal date: open ended

Controls on commercial transactions and investment instruments

On 10 March 2022, the government of Canada promulgated Regulations Amending the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations (SOR/2022-52), introducing sanctions against 32 commercial Russian entities. The restrictions are introduced in response to Russia's invasion of Ukraine. 

The new restrictions prohibit all Canadian entities and individuals to engage in any commercial transactions with the sanctioned Russian enterprises. In this regard the following 25 companies were affected:

1. Admiralty Shipyard JSC, 
2. Aleksandrov Scientific Research Technological Institute NITI, 
3. Federal Research Center Boreskov Institute of Catalysis, 
4. Federal State Unitary Enterprise Dukhov Automatics Research Institute, 
5. Irkut Corporation,
6. Irkut Research and Production Corporation PJSC, 
7. Scientific Research Institute of Computing Machinery JSC, 
8. Central Research Institute of Machine Building JSC,
9. Kazan Helicopter Plant Repair Service JSC, 
10. Kazan Helicopter Plant PJSC, 
11. Rocket and Space Centre – Progress JSC, 
12. Komsomolsk-na-Amur Aviation Production Organization,
13. NPO High Precision Systems JSC, 
14. NPO Splav JSC, 
15. Beriev Aircraft Company PJSC, 
16. POLYUS Research Institute of M.F. Stelmakh JSC,
17. Promtech-Dubna JSC, 
18. Radiotechnical and Information Systems Concern,
19. Rapart Services LLC, 
20. Rosoboronexport JSC, 
21. Rostekh – Azimuth, 
22. Russian Helicopters JSC, 
23. Sukhoi Civil Aircraft,
24. UEC-Saturn, United Engine Corporation, 
25. United Instrument Manufacturing Corporation. 

The sanctioned entities operate among others in the aviation, shipbuilding, machinery, nuclear, chemical, weaponry,  military equipment, and space sectors. 

Apart from the aforementioned entities, the government also imposed sanctions on 7 Russian public bodies, including the Ministry of Defense, the Administration of the President of Russia, and the Foreign Intelligence Service. 

The measure is part of the sanctions introduced by Canada against Russia and Belarus in response to the Ukraine invasion (see related state acts).