In February 2022, the EU banned all Russian carriers from EU airspace. The measure forms part of the third sanctions package against Russia in the context of the attack on Ukraine. 



  • 1 harmful
  • 0 neutral
  • 0 liberalising


Official Journal of the EU, EUR-Lex. "Council Regulation (EU) 2022/334 of 28 February 2022 amending Council Regulation (EU) No 833/2014 concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine". 28/02/2022. Available at:

European Commission. Press release. "Statement by President von der Leyen on further measures to respond to the Russian invasion of Ukraine". 27/02/2022. Available at:

Inception date: 28 Feb 2022 | Removal date: open ended

Instrument unclear

On 28 February 2022, the European Union adopted Council Regulation (EU) 2022/334 banning Russian air carriers from landing in, taking off from or overflying the air territory of the EU. The measure effectively prohibits any airline holding a valid operating licence or equivalent issued by Russia from operating in the EU. It enters into force on the day of its publication on the official gazette. 

The measure forms part of the third sanctions package issued by the EU against Russia in the context of the Ukraine crisis. In this context, the President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, noted: "We are proposing a prohibition on all Russian-owned, Russian registered or Russian-controlled aircraft. These aircraft will no more be able to land in, take off or overfly the territory of the EU. This will apply to any plane owned, chartered or otherwise controlled by a Russian legal or natural person. So let me be very clear. Our airspace will be closed to every Russian plane – and that includes the private jets of oligarchs". 

It modifies Regulation (EU) 833/2014 which set the sanctions against Russia in the context of the Crimea conflict in 2014. 

EU's sanctions on Russia 

On 28 February 2022, the EU instituted its third package of measures targetting the Russian Federation for the recognition of non-government-controlled areas of the Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts of Ukraine as independent entities and the subsequent decision to send Russian troops into these areas. The package also includes restrictions on the Russian Central Bank. 

The first and second packages were adopted on 25 February 2022 (see related state acts). The packages have been closely coordinated with G7 and NATO allies.